Home > All Time Favorite, Book Review, Owned > Book Review: A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin

Book Review: A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin

“Winter is coming”

The words of the Starks hung chilled in the air around Winterfell, their ancestors home. Sinister forces lurk beyond the Wall bringing with them the long years of disaster the people believe that you would die choking yourself while laughing.
The House of Stark is one of the seven great houses of the Seven Kingdoms and the ruler of the North. When the King of the Andals came and offer him to be the Hand of the King chain of events and problems lay before the members of the house. After the travel to the south, enemies have risen and are ready to out-throned the King Robert.
Lord Stark try to wound to the truth and when finally it is in his grasp, a terrible accident happened and murder was thus given. And in the sudden turn of the events, the lord and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and evildoers are all a prisoner in the field of betrayals, where loyalty really lie, or who’s side will really win this coming war.
And still the words of the Starks are coming and yet they are not prepared to win another battle that will last for years.

Winter is coming.

This is the second longest book I’ve ever read after The Passage, and both never failed me. The realm is imaginary but still believable, where we witnessed eight main characters and a minor character in the prologue, and each one yet bring before me of what I called tragic lives.
This made me cringe, in some parts I never thought that I will never do but did was to gape at it unconsciously and close it before my classmates saw it and might laugh at me. I read it like tomorrow’s life would not be done if I didn’t got the time to read.
I’ve been attached to the characters as they are bound to the pages, most likely I liked Princess Daenerys of House Targaryens but knew that she will be bold and fierce as years made her, she no longer have the heart of a maiden in the end, but a heart that is to rule and knows no king and queen besides herself.
Less that I like is the Imp, Tyrion Lannister. It is just he’s so pervert and I favor to cut his manhood and his tongue. But I sympathized with him at the moments of his memories and time with his Lord Tywin.
And yes, Arya the Brave, who would have forgotten such a girl who attacked the fucking idiot Prince Joffrey. She does not have the princess’s attitude but she does have the man’s braveness, and I liked her for it.
Oppose for Arya is Sansa. I totally hate her at the beginning to the middle but came to settle down my arguments with her in the last pages of her POV.
Jon the Bastard, he’s a bastard and that’s enough for him. The brave bastard who took the oath of the Night’s Watch and became a thorough smart man.
Lord and Lady Stark. Their part-POV’s filled the book with intense in finding for the truth, battling the enemies plot to them and the agony for their children.
Well Bran is in the middle of likeness. I couldn’t believe the event happened for him, I felt the lost of hope and a surge for fighting the tears that welled before his eyes.

  1. December 3, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Just wish to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your post is just spectacular and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

