Home > 2011 read, All Time Favorite, Book Review > Book Review: A Dance With Dragons, George R.R. Martin

Book Review: A Dance With Dragons, George R.R. Martin

“I think life is a jape. Yours, mine, everyone’s.”

The fifth of the planned seven novels in the fictitious world of A Song of Ice and Fire series.

The novel was concurrent to the fourth book Feast. Where the Feast failed to surprise and interest me the Dance instantly devoured me in it’s first pages where the skinchanger Varamyr told what happened after the scattering of the wildlings in the recently attack to the wall.

The war of the five kings is already losing its name and laying low with only two kings at hand.
Stannis Baratheon stationed himself and his armies at the Wall to seek the trust of the northmen to support him to attack again. Heeding the advice of Jon Snow, he seeks the mountain clans to win them as well. Capturing Deepwood Motte the army is bound to get to Winterfell to confront Roose Bolton, the Warden of the North. But they found themselves frozen and snowbound as the water is in its lake.

Across the far east, Daenerys Stormborn Targaryen struggles to keep peace in Mereen the newly conquered city. With the Son of Harpy and the Harpy himself tries to intervene and seems to plot against the Queen.

On the wall, Jon Snow the 998th lord commander of the brothers of the Night Watch has his own problems. Food to get them through winter, people to garrison the other castles, and the thousands of wildlings that he let through after a peace agreement made by him and Tormund Giantsbane.

You know, after reading the book. I almost ripped out my hair from my head. Shouting like a crazy fitting is happening. I’m so absorbed in the world Martin produced out of his wits(I said that a million times na siguro). The characters were hell of a bomb after bombs.

Jon, poor Jon! I nearly cried out to what happened to him in his last POV! It was damn, shit, and nasty things I’d said couldn’t claim out what happened!

And oh boy! My little Tyrion the giant o’ Lannister! Who would have thought that she will have a new girl! Appropriate of age, the innocence and especially, appropriate of the height herself! Whenever I thought about it, I just couldn’t laugh, from the passionless kiss to Tyrion saying seven hells when he said something about liking the lips(or nose??) of Penny.

For Daenerys Targaryen, I’m not sure about what I really felt now about her? How couldn’t she had known that there’s a mischief behind her marrying Hizdahr. Bugger him! Stupid baby crying for mercy! Fire and blood! You must remember who you are, the dragons know.

Other characters from Feast also appeared in this book as referred to the author’s note. And so the timeline emerged again.

I wanna cry thinking about how long will I wait to come upon the sixth book.

Winter has come and the northmen knows that a laugh can choke you to death. Will the southron lords and ladies survive the winter? A year of winter? A decades. Come the winds of winter to bury the secrets of the green summer.

  1. December 10, 2011 at 7:34 am

    Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. December 10, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Love your blog!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment